Wifi Range Extenders

For any tech-related problems

Moderator: Tech Moderators

User avatar
Savara
Posts: 2071
Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2007 5:45 pm
Location: London
Contact:

Wifi Range Extenders

Postby Savara » Wed Feb 06, 2013 3:04 pm

A friend has asked me to install some wifi range extenders in his house, and I wondered if anyone had any experience with them, or knew which ones to avoid, and how easy they are to set up etc.?

Currently thinking of going router-powerline-powerline-access point...? I know I could just go for the repeater straight off, but want to guarantee as little interference as possible.

Any advice / recommendations appreciated.

User avatar
Ekona
Posts: 16629
Joined: Sun Mar 18, 2007 8:24 pm
Tag: Official member of the RB Anti Facist Party est. 2009
Location: Braintree, innit

Re: Wifi Range Extenders

Postby Ekona » Wed Feb 06, 2013 3:20 pm

If you're using powerline adaptors, would you not be better off just sticking with them? Or does he want the WiFi for mobile and tablet stuff?

I've never used either to be fair, but your method sounds correct if nothing else. That's how I'd do it if running Cat5 isn't a solution (is it?). That said, I've used the Apple Airport Express and it was a cracking piece of kit, did the job superbly but that wasn't using the powerline stuff.
"Chav kids are like sand people. They're easily startled but they'll be back, and in greater numbers."

User avatar
Sam
Posts: 4956
Joined: Mon Mar 19, 2007 8:41 pm
Tag: Hasn't realised that there are custom ranks yet
Location: Northern Ireland

Re: Wifi Range Extenders

Postby Sam » Wed Feb 06, 2013 3:30 pm

I went for homeplug/powerline things. One by the router, one in my room, attached to a £7 5 port 10/100 switch I got off amazon. It's awesome.

So I suppose you could do:

Modem/Router -> powerline -> powerline -> wireless router
:-)

User avatar
Savara
Posts: 2071
Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2007 5:45 pm
Location: London
Contact:

Re: Wifi Range Extenders

Postby Savara » Wed Feb 06, 2013 3:48 pm

It's for his house + B&B, so needs to be able to give the wifi access to guests. Have ordered these and this, hopefully should be ok, so basically what Sam suggested!

Thanks :-)

User avatar
Sam
Posts: 4956
Joined: Mon Mar 19, 2007 8:41 pm
Tag: Hasn't realised that there are custom ranks yet
Location: Northern Ireland

Re: Wifi Range Extenders

Postby Sam » Wed Feb 06, 2013 3:51 pm

That would do the job rightly
:-)

User avatar
RB
Posts: 10689
Joined: Sun Mar 18, 2007 3:27 pm

Re: Wifi Range Extenders

Postby RB » Wed Feb 06, 2013 7:34 pm

You shouldn't need to wire the wireless jobbers at all. I have two of these

http://www.amazon.co.uk/NETGEAR-WN2000R ... 951&sr=8-3

You connect them to your router's Wi-Fi and they repeat.
A slight majority of a statistically worthless sample size agree.

User avatar
Savara
Posts: 2071
Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2007 5:45 pm
Location: London
Contact:

Re: Wifi Range Extenders

Postby Savara » Mon Feb 11, 2013 12:15 pm

Installed the previously described setup (powerline & WAP) this morning with the same SSID and password as the base router, but on channels 1 (router) and 10 (WAP); works like an absolute dream. All devices switch seamlessly between the two networks without so much as a blink, or realising that they're different.

User avatar
Tinlad
Tech Moderator
Posts: 3345
Joined: Sun Mar 18, 2007 4:54 pm
Tag: Dog food scientist.
Location: Leeds
Contact:

Re: Wifi Range Extenders

Postby Tinlad » Mon Feb 11, 2013 12:22 pm

That's precisely the setup I have at home - it works brilliantly.

User avatar
Savara
Posts: 2071
Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2007 5:45 pm
Location: London
Contact:

Re: Wifi Range Extenders

Postby Savara » Wed Dec 11, 2013 3:42 pm

So having installed an identical setup in the same friend's pub, ages ago, with no problems, he's now got a new BT Business Router. I've updated the settings of the AP upstairs on the powerlines to the new SSID and password, and it appears the same in all ways, except it now no longer switches quite as seamlessly as before; it appears to be fine on my iPad, but on my laptop it often needs me to turn off the wifi and back on again.

I'm fairly sure I had it in AP mode (rather than bridge or repeater; I think these are wireless-link modes, rather than taking the connection over the ethernet cable), but I had to reset it to get back into it. Currently unsure if I've just set it up slightly wrong, or if it's something to do with the new router... any ideas?

User avatar
bananahead
Posts: 752
Joined: Mon Mar 19, 2007 7:29 pm
Tag: Happy when it rains

Re: Wifi Range Extenders

Postby bananahead » Mon Dec 30, 2013 6:56 pm

And I have just gone for a ...

Netgear WN2500RP, Universal DualBand Repeater

A four port switch with both 2.4 and 5 as wi-fi extension. Great thing.


Return to “Tech Help”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

cron